Pacifiers

My Chumba is the baby of the family, but if you compare his height and weight to the other boys he puts them to shame. As the baby he can hold his own against the ruff housing of the bigger kids. My sleepless time searching for a lost pacifier inspired this poem.

Screams ring out through the night, there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal. I want to sleep! I want peace just quiet yourself. Says this mother of four who knows full well that the answer is not in what pacifies but in who has died. Jesus I cry, just one night. Can’t you just make it stop, just one night? As the screams ring out through the night, there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal.

I am reminded that though there is light shining bright the corners are dark. My act of love, my compassion, my attempt to encourage will not be enough until you know that the one who died did it for you. Everything that Jesus did was to show you love. You are blinded by the dark. Screams ring out through the night, there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal.

My love is exhausted and feeble, my heart wants peace. The Holy Spirit is working but we do not hear we’ve forgotten to listen. We are filtering out the voice of the ONE thinking we’ve found the answer is white noise. Screams ring out through the night, there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal.

The hurt the hate, my heart aches for quiet for peace for sleep so sweet. Just when I think it is all over sirens startle time flies by, it starts again it never seems to end. This time, my heart is filled with grace and mercy. I get it, I understand the love that was taught, maybe my light will shine reaching for the pacifier as screams ring out through the night there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal.

The voice is clear the mission is strong. Love God and one another. Jesus took it personally upon himself to teach us to show us. He died for our sin, yeah, you know the one. He took the hurt when will we believe? It becomes difficult but it’s the only way when the screams ring through the night, there isn’t a pacifier big enough when it all becomes personal.

Leave a Reply

