An Exploration into the Meaning of God’s Call

About a year ago (May 2013) I responded to an alter call at Annual Conference. I stepped forward when the question was asked do you feel a call on your life into ministry.  I filled my information card out on the bottom it stated,  Where do you see yourself being called to ministry?” I wrote Life. My husband had just gotten commissioned in the United Methodist Church. Ministry was and is life. But I felt like God was calling me to more.

As a pastor’s wife, preschool teacher and mother of twins with a third child on the way, I had not taken a lot of time to process through this call. When the opportunity arose at annual conference, I could not stay in my seat one more minute.

One month latter life. Baby three came right on time. So life happened and this call that I felt so strongly just one month before was pushed to the back burner and my call to Motherhood took priority. We have had a busy year. Cuddles, tickles, tears, travel. Through out the year I did not stop thinking about this call but never enough to fully discern what I wanted to do with the call into ministry.

In February of 2014 I ended up in the hospital and had emergency surgery, I lost 2 liters of blood. The doctors said if we had waited 20 minutes later to call the ambulance I would not have survived. {The details of this story I will share on another day}

Pheonix

I ended up in the hospital and had emergency surgery. I had an ectopic pregnancy rupture and lost 2 liters of blood in my abdomen. Had we waited 20 more minutes to call the ambulance. I would not be here.

I woke up from surgery and shouted, to God and to my husband. “I guess this means I am going to seminary”.

 

This year at Annual Conference, During the Service of Recognition, Commissioning, and Ordination of Deacons and Elders this prayer was read:

“We praise you, eternal God, because you have called us to be a priestly people, offering to you acceptable worship through Jesus Christ, our lord. We thank you that Christ has poured forth gifts abundantly on your people, making some apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, some pastors and teachers, {insert me getting choked up and begin to cry} to equip the saints for the work of ministry and to fulfill your gracious purpose in the world. Give to these your servants the grace and power they need. Make them faithful pastors, patient teachers, and wise counselors. Enable them to proclaim the gospel of salvation, to administer the sacraments, to order the life of the church, through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen. “

 I also attended a lunch for people interested in pursuing ordained ministry. I spoke with clergy and seminary recruiters.

IMG_4971

I was handed this 93 page book to read through to begin my discerning process. I have several appointments made to speak with other clergy and next moth we are incorporating a detour on our family vacation by touring three seminaries; United, MTSO, and Asbury.

 

Leave a Reply

